Generator 2.4: Prototype#1

IMG-3406.JPG

 The Project

The goal of my project was to make to see whether or not moving a permanent magnet can cause electricity to flow in a coil of wire.

An electric generator takes mechanical energy and converts it into electric energy.

Basic Concept

Previously, I made a solenoid. A solenoid is simply a coil of wire and a permanent magnet. In a solenoid, electricity flowing through the wire causes the permanent magnet to move.

The idea for my generator came from asking”what if i could switch the cause and the effect of a solenoid?” What if the moving the permanent magnet could cause electricity to flow through the wire, and light up the small light bulb.

The three essential components of my generator are the wire that was wind 500 times, the permanent magnet inside the straw, and shaking the straw to make mechanical energy and converting it into electric energy.

The purpose of the LED light is to indicate whether or not if the electric generator produces electricity.

The card stock and tape, are not essential components. They just hold everything together.

Data

When i moved the magnet by shaking my generator, i saw the LED light, lighting up.

Claim

Moving permanent magnets causes electricity to flow in a coil of wire.

Reasoning

I know my claim is true because when i moved the permanent magnet by shaking the generator, I saw the LED Light up.

Significance

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started